Partying party

Once I wrote about politics I thought this is it, there’s nothing more that I’d say regarding the subject, but somehow now it seems to me like an inexhaustible topic.

I hate poverty. It makes people with no criteria even more desperate and even less hesitating.

My aunt (my mother’s sister) and her husband, my uncle are in the same political party. One day last week I got an invitation from their daughter to come to a closed type party at a local club. I don’t know the exact square surface, but it is on two levels. It is quite big. There’d be some famous band singing, but I’m not quite a fan so I told her that I’ll think about it. In the meantime I’ve met my uncle who told me: “Listen, I’ve got two tickets for Friday night party, it’s for our people only.”

So I got it right, the party is partying. So they tried to trick me, to come there, have some “good” time and then they’d start bugging me until one of us dies to join them.

They do what they do, but what I hate is that fact that one of my closest relatives looks at me as I’m some kind of a score. She’d probably get some good points for me, besides she thinks it is the right decision and besides she asked me nothing about it.

I remember why she joined. By her story, they blackmailed her to join or otherwise she’d loose her job. But it seems like she forgot it. Or simply it never happened as she told us. She believes that people who are willing to do anything, who are less educated and less successful, who can harm other people because they have no limits and they’d do anything for money are good for me, the one who spent 6 years studying how to help others, who speaks three languages and appreciates good will, effort and equality above all. I have flaws but those people disguise me. And what hurts me is how my closest relatives underrate me. She wants to push me in it, without asking me anything. She wants me to do the job for the party which includes lies, scams and blackmails; sharing leaflets on the streets and convincing people that it is good to join it. In return I’d get three months of paid job under contract in local health center. This is what I mean when I say that young people are humiliated in this country. They left us nothing and it is not enough still, they want us to be even more degraded. But my aunt thinks it looks like it should. And that it is the right thing.

In her position, I’d keep my children and my closest relative’s children aside, they don’t have to step in politics if they don’t want to; I’d care for their qualities and remind them every day how good they are. Instead, I got silent condemnations how I shouldn’t be that enthusiastic about leaving this country.

I don’t want to. Can’t you see? Do you think that I’d be happy in some foreign country where there’s none of my closest people? Where there’s no one I could rely on to? Why do you do this to us, why?  We are all your children. You force us to leave. You leave us unfair options. I don’t want some molesting, uneducated bully to tell me what to do, but if it is what you offer me, I’d better leave. Elsewhere I might not know anyone but they’d probably appreciate me more objectively. I hate this people. We are the country, the government, the institutions. There’s no need to blame some illusive term such as one of these I mentioned because the people are those to blame. Our adults are those to blame. Why do you do this to us?

Leave a Reply

